[Photo Credit: by Gage Skidmore]

Georgia Supreme Court Rules Against Trump’s Attempt to Stop Grand Jury Report

On Monday, the Georgia Supreme Court reportedly rejected former president Donald Trump’s request to stop the release of a grand jury report.

All nine justices of the Georgia Supreme Court said in a five-page judgment released on Monday afternoon that Trump’s attorneys had failed to make a convincing argument for stopping the investigation being conducted by Fulton County District Attorney Fani Willis.

She has hinted that indictments in the election-related investigation might happen in the coming weeks as a grand jury meets to discuss potential charges.

The Georgia court said that there was no justification to allow Trump to circumvent the customary procedure of initially seeking relief in lower courts.

The use of a special grand jury to look into potential crimes connected to the 2020 presidential election and the subsequent presentation of that evidence to another, regular grand jury that is deliberating potential indictments against Trump and his allies are among the ways in which Trump’s attorneys have claimed that Willis has violated the state’s rules governing grand juries.

Judge Robert McBurney of Fulton County Superior Court received a petition from Trump’s attorneys in March seeking for the suspension of Willis’ investigation. McBurney is still deliberating on the move.

In defending the inquiry, the district attorney’s office insisted that all applicable laws had been followed.

The Georgia high court’s decision states the state court of last resort is unwilling to do so in the current position, but it doesn’t prevent McBurney or any other judge from approving any or all of Trump’s demands.

Willis’ investigation appears to be focused on the pressure Trump and his allies applied to Georgia authorities in the weeks following the 2020 election in an effort to overturn Trump’s close loss to Joe Biden in the state.

[READ MORE: Jim Jordan Threatens FBI Director Christopher Wray With Contempt of Congress]